What Does The Word Yoga Mean? Meaning And Definition Of Yoga

Sunil Murthy
Written by
Last update:

What Does the Word Yoga Mean? What is the Meaning of Yoga Word?

The word yoga comes from the Sanskrit word “yutsu” which means “union”. It refers to uniting mind with Spirit. It is a physical and spiritual discipline that creates balance in the mental, emotional, and physical body. Yoga's classical definition is the act of union with the Supreme Reality, or the experience of unity between the Self and the Universe.

In India, Yoga is one of the six orthodox schools (darshanas). Yoga and religion are not intertwined. It is not a religion. Yoga is practiced by people from all faiths and spiritual backgrounds.

Definition of Yoga

As tricky as it might be, you shouldn’t run from the yoga definition. Attempting to decipher what it all means is vital to discover if it will fit into your healthy lifestyle. And make sure that yoga is suitable for you is crucial before you begin your yoga journey.

We all know that yoga is considered an ancient practice or philosophy of meditation. Yoga is essentially a spiritual discipline based on an extremely subtle science, which focuses on bringing harmony between mind and body. It is an art and science of healthy living. But the most significant thing